Energy Drink Seduction

I don’t like admitting that I am addicted to anything. (Except for knitting, LOTR and Disney) But in all honesty, I unfortunately have an unhealthy addiction to energy drinks. I never used to drink them, until I moved from Canada to Oklahoma, USA, where they were MUCH cheaper.

It all started when I got my first full time job, as a 7 Eleven night clerk. Seriously, one of the worst decisions I have ever made. Because I worked from 10pm until 8am almost every night, I needed something to help me along the way, and that was seductive Monster Energy Drink. I LOVED the taste of them. I couldn’t control myself, and I didn’t notice until it was too late. I worked five nights a week, and I would have a huge can of it every night. I soon switched to Ol’ Glory Energy Drinks, because they were so much cheaper.

I never thought anything of it, until I moved back home to Nova Scotia, Canada, where these energy drinks were triple the price. I wasn’t working night shifts when I moved home, so I didn’t need these energy drinks, but I continue to this day to drink them probably 3-4 times a week. Why is that?

The sugar, the taurine, the caffeine. 

I. Am an addict. I have tried so many things, like replacing it with juice, or ginger ale, or carbonated water. I find the only thing that is kind of helping is lemon water. I hate coffee, tea is okay… but I feel like I am dead without my energy drink. I don’t even drink them for energy anymore, my body just craves the taste.

By the way, I drink Nos now. A citrus energy drink. 210 calories. 53 grams of sugar. Ridiculous amounts of caffeine.

I went a whole month without having any energy drinks a few months ago. And I felt great! I had natural energy, and I slept better at night. But one day I stayed up all night watching episodes of The 100 on Netflix, and the next morning, while on my way to work, I caved and bought two cans. Thus the vicious cycle continues.

Jesse even hides my energy drinks sometimes, because he knows how shitty they are for me.

It truly is a battle.

Leave a Reply

